scroll down

Weed Department

North Dakota Tourism

Randy Gaebe Weed Control Officer

PHONE: (701) 523-4902

104 1st St NW
Bowman, ND 58623

Bowman County Weed Department

The Bowman County Weed Board is made up of 3 members appointed by the County Commission. The Weed Board hires a Weed Control Officer, a position held by Randy Gaebe, who also works closely with landowners.

The job of the Weed Board and Weed Officer is to enforce the North Dakota Century Code noxious weed law. Please contact the office for more information about the Weed Board and the numerous programs aimed at helping landowners with noxious weeds.

The Weed Control office is located in the upper level of the Bowman County Courthouse.


Weed Department Minutes

August 05, 2014
11:00 AM

Bowman County Weed Board Minutes

August 5, 2014

11:00 am


Roll Call:  Present: Jeff Oakland, George Buckmeier, Jerid Janikowski, Randy Gaebe

Minutes of Previous Meeting were read and approved with a motion by Jerid, seconded by George.

Board members approved and signed vouchers for payment of bills.

Old Business:

Board members discussed the Bowman Haley Dam targeted grazing project. Nancy Teigen leased a 300 acre parcel along the North Grand River. Randy and Ken assisted with electric fence installation and removal. It has been suggested to increase the herd size and shorten the grazing days to allow for more effective impact on the targeted grazing of Canada thistle plants during the early summer growing season.

Randy described the noxious weed spraying activities:

Weeds controlled include:  Houndstongue, Leafy Spurge, knapweed, wormwood, Canada thistle, babys breath, Scotch thistle, and musk thistle.

  • Ken Becker: county and township road ROWs in 12 townships in east Bowman County
  • Randy Gaebe: US and State highways, township and county roads in west Bowman County, custom application on private land within Bowman County.


Randy discussed the Ag Departments cost share programs and progress using these funds.

ND Ag Dept. Landowner Assistance Program :   

  • $22,404.36 was available for 2013-2015 biennium
  • $10.332.83 remaining (46%)


ND Ag Dept. Targeted Assistance Program:         

  • $5,000.00 was available for 2013-2015 biennium
  • $2,242.85 remaining (45%)


New Business

2015 Budget Discussion:

George moved, Jerid seconded a motion to pay for weed officer and employee’s payroll taxes and benefits out of the weed board budget. Motion carried.

George moved, Jerid seconded a motion to increase the weed officer’s wages to $25.00 per hour. Motion carried.

George moved, Jerid seconded a motion to increase the second weed sprayer’s wages to $18.00 per hour. Motion carried.

Board members discussed the possibility of providing life and disability insurance for weed board employees, due to the high risk tasks associated with noxious weed control.

Jerid moved, George seconded a motion to get quotes from Dakota Farm Equipment on trading in the 2011 John Deere Gator on a 2014 or 2015 model. Motion carried.

Board members discussed the need for more space and shelter for pickups and trailers, to keep equipment from freezing in fall spraying months, and the need for facility to wash pesticide contaminated clothing and to shower after applying pesticides. Weed Board members will address these needs with the County Commission, with the suggestion of using weed board funds to help pay for a county facility that addresses the needs.

George moved, Jerid seconded a motion to present our proposed budget to the County Commission. Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 1:05 pm, then weed board members met with County Commission at 1:15 pm.

Weed Department Meetings

The Bowman County Weed Board generally meets every first Thursday of the months; February, April, June, August, October, and December in the Dakota Room of the Bowman County Courthouse at 7:00pm. See the Meeting Calendar for upcoming meeting dates.

Weed Department Board

Jerid Janikowski President                    
Jeff Oakland Member
George Buckmeier Member