Planning & Zoning

Bowman County Planning and Zoning

The position of Bowman County Planning and Zoning Director is an appointed position.


The Department of Planning and Zoning is responsible for administration of the Bowman County zoning and subdivision regulations, staff support to the Bowman County Planning and Zoning Board, and long-range planning for land use and development in Bowman County.

County Planning & Zoning Minutes

October 13, 2022 – 6:00 pm

The Bowman County Planning and Zoning Commission met in regular session on October 13, 2022.

Members present: Chris Fischer, Jerid Janikowski, Jerry Jeffers, Doyle Kruger, and Rodney Schaff, Myron Vail.  Members absent: Lynn Brackel, Ryan Shear.  Also present: Zoning Director, Jodi Freier.  Chairman Janikowski called the meeting to order at 6:00 pm. Chairman Janikowski asked for corrections or additions to the agenda. Jeffers moved to approve the agenda.  Schaff seconded the motion, and upon a vote, the motion was carried unanimously.

Fischer moved to approve the minutes from July 14, 2022.  Kruger seconded the motion, and upon a vote the motion was carried unanimously.

Schaff moved to approve the minutes from the July 18, 2022 Special Meeting.  Jeffers seconded the motion, and upon a vote, the motion was carried unanimously.


Old Business:

     The board updated their Zoning Ordinance books with the updated Resolution #13, North Dakota Administrative Code 33-16-03.1 (Feedlots).

Discussion was held on the current moratorium on battery storage facilities. More research is needed before action can be taken.

Discussion was held on drafting our medical marijuana ordinance. The last discussion held on the subject was in May of 2018. At that time, the board was waiting for the state to finalize their guidelines. Recreational marijuana is on the November 2022 ballot, so the board will revisit this spring 2023.

The board discussed if follow-up is required to make sure guidelines are met once a conditional use permit is approved. There is currently nothing in place. A form could be provided, if requested.

Discussion was held on possibly requiring building permits on ag land. Our neighboring counties currently require this. Freier will do more research.


New Business:

     The board discussed 2023 Zoning Board meetings and if it is necessary to meet every month. The board decided that every other month would sufficient unless need arises for a special permit.

Implementation of an agenda policy was discussed. Freier will draft a policy for approval at the next zoning meeting.         

With no further business to discuss, Vail moved to adjourn the meeting at 7:06 PM, with Schaff seconding the motion.


Respectively submitted,

Mindy Schumacher, Secretary


Discussion was held on updating the Bowman County Planning and Zoning Ordinance/ Comprehensive Plan and updating zoning applications and permits with no motions made.

Bowman County Planning and Zoning Meeting

December 8, 2022

Call to Order


Approval of the Agenda and/or additions


Approval for minutes of the last meetings

  • October 13, 2022 Regular Meeting

 Zoning Board Chairman


Old Business

2023 Zoning Board Meetings- Schedule

Agenda Policy

Permits required



New Business

Meat Markets

Mclean County Wind & Solar Energy

Extraterritorial Jurisdiction Webinar- December 15th





Discussion on updating 2012 Bowman County Zoning Ordinance

  • Rodd’s Wind and Solar Changes to review

County Planning and Zoning Meetings


The Bowman County Planning and Zoning board meet the 2nd Thursday of the months of February, April, June, August, October and December at 6pm in the County Commission Room of the Bowman County Courthouse. See the Meeting Calendar for upcoming meeting dates.

County Planning and Zoning Board


Chris FischerPresident
Rodd SchaffVice President
Ryan ShearMember
Myron VailMember
Jerid JanikowskiMember
Jerry JeffersMember
Doyle KrugerMember
Jodi FreierDirector




PHONE: (701) 523-3129

Bowman County Planning & Zoning
104 1st St NW, Suite 4
Bowman ND 58623


Monday – Thursday:
7:30am – 12:00pm MT
12:30pm – 4:30pm MT

7:30am – 12:00pm MT
(Closed on Legal Holidays)