Ag Appreciation Banquet

2023 Ag Appreciation Banquet


The annual Ag Appreciation Banquet will be held on Wednesday October, 25th 2023 at the 4 Seasons Pavilion in Bowman, North Dakota. Join us for a free evening of food, fellowship, and entertainment as we honor the 2023 Farmer/Rancher of the Year and our incredible ag communities.



Schedule of Events

Wednesday, October 25, 2023


5:00 pm – Social – Open bar courtesy of Bowman Area Chamber of Commerce and Sponsors

6:00 pm – Dinner – Free meal courtesy of Bowman Area Chamber of Commerce and Sponsors

7:00 pm – Welcome

7:15 pm – Award Presentation – 2023 Farmer/Rancher of the Year, Mark and Stephanie Kelner

7:30 pm – Entertainment by Braxten Nielsen



2023 Farmer/Rancher of the Year

Mark and Stephanie Kelner



Mark Kelner has been a part of Bowman/Slope County for 69 years. He was raised on a farm/ranch seven and a half miles north of Buffalo Springs, which was started by Mark’s grandfather, Charles Kelner. He graduated from Scranton Public school in 1972 before attending Dickinson State College. He returned home to farm and ranch as well as work construction with S and S construction.


He married Stephanie (Tenny) Deutscher in June of 1977 and together they raised their four children: Eric, Lindsey, Blake, and Taylor. Mark farmed and ranched with his father and brother before Mark and Tenny began farming the Kelner and Deutscher farms on their own. They started NoTill farming and recropping in the late 70s.


After graduating from college, Eric came back to join the farming and ranching operation. They currently raise spring wheat, durum, canola, sunflowers, and corn. They have also been experimenting with cover crops. They also raise primarily red angus cattle and have cell grazed since the mid 80s.


Mark served on a NDSU Research and Extension advisory board, was a supervisor for the Bowman/Slope Soil Conservation District, and was a county representative for the North Dakota Wheat Commission. In 1994, Mark and Tenny won the Soil Conservation Award. Mark currently serves as the president of Scranton Equity Exchange, where he has been a board member for 25 years.


Mark has always been a sports nut playing all high school sports, refereeing, and coaching basketball. Mark and Tenny have spent many hours watching their children participate in athletic events, and now they are busy keeping up with their nine grandchildren: Hunter, Kade, Kellen, Evan, Avery, Jackson, Braxtyn, Kolben, and Emryn. The best memories have been made at Nana and Papa’s Farm.




Braxten Nielsen



Braxten is from Roosevelt, Utah. His motto “We were Born to Succeed” has been a quote that he has lived by and believes in. Braxten will share his message about hard work, being resilient and how to keep positive and overcome setbacks and challenges.


He currently lives in Utah with his wife Heather and daughter Jaida. He grew up loving the outdoors where he did a lot of camping, hunting, fishing, and working on his family’s ranch with his dad and family. He excelled in sports and was a three-sport athlete throughout high school where he received all-state football, basketball, and baseball recognition and awards. In college he joined the college rodeo team and now enjoys team roping. He is very close to his family and friends and enjoys building new relationships with people everywhere he goes.  




Nominations for Farmer/Rancher of the Year


  • Must be 55 or older
  • Located in Bowman, Slope, or Hardin County
  • Have significant agricultural contributions


Nominate your favorite farmer/rancher with this form and deliver it to 13 E Divide, mail to PO Box 1143, Bowman, ND 58623, or submit by email to


Nominations are due by September 11, 2023



Past Farmer/Rancher of the Year Awards


  • 2023 Mark and Stephanie Kelner
  • 2022 Laureen Stuber
  • 2021 Bruce and Teresa Bowman
  • 2020 Brooks Chalky Butte Ranch
  • 2019 Wayne and Susan Nelson
  • 2018 Gerald, Rita, Larry, and Jackie Lambourn
  • 2017 Kenneth Abrahamson
  • 2016 Harry Kerr
  • 2015 Donald Brown
  • 2014 Wayne Mrnak
  • 2013 Bruce Freitag
  • 2012 Bob Andrews
  • 2011 Marlene Mrnak
  • 2010 Leo Heinrich
  • 2009 John Lee and Ellen Njos
  • 2008 Don Burke
  • 2007 Roger Stuber
  • 2006 Burke Lambourn
  • 2005 Elwood and Gerry Andersen
  • 2004 Ina Holmquist
  • 2003 Lyle and Sharon Gunderson
  • 2002 Lyle Sander
  • 2001 Stanley Pope
  • 2000 Bob Penfield
  • 1999 Lawrence Faris
  • 1998 Bill Fisher
  • 1997 Fred Gerth
  • 1996 Dorothy Soreide
  • 1995 Ken Rajewsky
  • 1994 Odell Sabe
  • 1993 Howard Pearson
  • 1992 Albert Bowman
  • 1991 Wally Jacobs
  • 1990 Jim Mrnak
  • 1989 Howard Brooks



Brooklyn Engelhart

13 1/2 E Divide
Bowman, ND 58623
(701) 523-5880


Monday – Friday

8am – 5pm (MST)

(Closed on legal holidays)