Ag Appreciation Banquet

Ag Appreciation Banquet

On October 25, people filled the 4 Seasons Pavilion in Bowman, ND to celebrate agriculture in Bowman, Slope, and Harding Counties. The night focused on agriculture with a special highlight and congratulations given to Mark and Stephanie Kelner of Bowman and Slope County as the 2023 Farmer/Rancher of the Year.

Honoring a Farmer/Rancher of the Year is a tradition that has taken place for over 30 years, since 1989, and will continue to be celebrated for many more. Honorees are nominated from the community and selected by the Bowman Area Chamber of Commerce Ag Committee. The Kelner’s were selected as the 2023 honoree for their significant agricultural contributions.

Following the ceremony, Braxton Nielsen intrigued the crowd with his life experiences in rodeo and learning to walk again after a terrible accident. He shared his message about hard work, being resilient, and how to keep positive and overcome setbacks and challenges, while living by his motto “We were Born to Succeed”

The evening consisted of a social hour, a meal that was prepared and served by the Chamber Ag Committee, the presentation of the 2023 Farmer/Rancher of the Year, and entertainment by Braxton Nielsen.

Bowman Area Chamber of Commerce’s Ag Committee includes Beth Criswell, Cory Blaser, Bob White, Andrea Bowman, Wayne Bergquist, Josh Lindstrom, Melissa Lindstrom, Scott Martian, Tanner Fischer, Scott Lardy, Becky Brooks, John Lathum, Casey Wallman, Jay Soreide, and Andi Yearout.

The event would not be possible without all the sponsors who value agriculture in our community. Platinum sponsors included AES Clean Energy, Bowman Grain, Bowman Livestock Marketing, Dakota Community Bank and Trust, Dakota Western Bank, Farm Credit Services of Mandan, Frontier Travel Center, Next Door Pizza, Pifer’s Auction and Realty, Pioneer Bank and Trust, ProPoint Cooperative, Scranton Equity Exchange, Southwest Ag, The Union Bank, and West Plains Inc. A full list of sponsors is available online at

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.