scroll down


North Dakota Tourism

Bowman County Courthouse
104 1st St NW
Bowman, ND 58623

USDA designates Bowman County, neighboring counties as disaster area

September 23, 2016

WASHINGTON—Bowman County was designated Friday by the U.S. Department of Agriculture as a primary natural disaster area due to losses caused by a recent drought.

armers and ranchers in Bowman County—as well as in neighboring Adams and Slope counties in North Dakota, Fallon County in Montana, and Harding County in South Dakota—qualify for natural disaster assistance.

"Our hearts go out to those North Dakota farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters," said Tom Vilsack, the U.S. Agriculture Secretary, stated in a release.

The counties were designated natural disaster areas on Sept. 15, qualifying all farm operators there as eligible for low-interest emergency loans from USDA's Farm Service Agency, provided eligibility requirements are met.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the emergency loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

"President Obama and I are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a bright spot in our nation's economy by sustaining the successes of America's farmers, ranchers and rural communities through these difficult times," Vilsack said in the statement. "We're also telling North Dakota producers that USDA stands with you and your communities when severe weather and natural disasters threaten to disrupt your livelihood."